Food for Thought

Happy Hump Day!

Since this workweek ends early for a lot of people due to the 4th of July, I want to celebrate with a premature #tbt of wee little me showing that my passion for ice-cream began at an early age.

photo 1 Please note the chocolate goatee.


Today’s post is another WIAW hosted, as always, by the lovely Jenn!

I haven’t done one of these in a few weeks, so let’s just say it is way more than just what I ate ‘Wednesday’…

I’m going to try to make this one less wordy than usual (seriously, did you see my last post?! I’m a bit of a blabby blogger) because I have to get packing for my trip to D.C. tomorrow(!!!!!) and I have work in a few hours!

Let’s get to it, shall we?


In absolutely no particular order or chronological sequence…

MorningStar Farms garden veggie patty, cauliflower & broccoli, BBQ pop chips, and a perfect white nectarine.

photo 5

Oh, and don’t forget the hot sauce and Sparkling Ice (obsessed – the lemonade is spot on)!

photo 2

A quick before-the-6:00-shift-dinner. I’m not a fan of eating dinner at 5 and then not eating again until after 10, but I often work the 6-10 shift, and you gotta do whatcha gotta do, right?

This one was Barber chicken, more pop chips, and some undocumented roasted veggies. Nothing special, but it did the trick!

photo 3

Getting artsy with it on my new iPhoto App!

photo 5

My beloved drumsticks (as shown here, here, here…and that’s probably not all. I eat them all the time. No shame.) I wasn’t sure I should post this one since it’s a little awkward (does anyone else feel weird licking ice cream cones/ popsicles in public? Maybe it’s just me…). Alas, I went for it. Get your mind out of the gutter people.

photo 3

My favorite Cosi salad, for the millionth time already this summer.

photo 1

More bagels.

Okay I feel the need to interject here (not that I haven’t been doing so already). I literally had 8 pictures of bagels on my phone from the past few weeks. The sad part is that I don’t take pictures of my meals very often, so that goes to show just how many bagels I consume. I refrained from posting all of them on here. You’re welcome.

I was curious how many times I’ve featured this delectable form of carbohydrates on the blog so I went into the archives. A bagel was pictured in one of my very first posts a little over a year ago(!!!!), mentioned in a post which has an awesome interval workout that I totally forgot about but now want to bring back, and was shown in my first link up ever, plus probably more because let’s face it, I have a problem.

But if almost daily consumption of warm, doughy carbs is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

photo 4

photo 4

photo 3

I realize some people aren’t in love with bagels like I am, but please tell me – is there anyone out there who doesn’t love brownies? If there is, I want to talk with them and hear their story.

photo 3

Looks familiar, eh? Another MorningStar garden veggie patty (I attempted to slice it up to mix it with some veggies but I gave up, hence the mangled patty you see here), nectarine, and pop chips. I guess it’s pretty clear that when I find things I like, I have them a lot…

photo 2

Chicken stir-fry (x100 + a giant wheat roll to soak up all that soy sauce! I’m strange.)

photo 5

Oh wow, I really mixed it up!!! Sour cream & onion instead of BBQ pop chips, and a wrap (folded over – I don’t just eat half…couldn’t if I tried) instead of a bun! Must’ve been having an off day.

photo 3

Making progress… Leftover mango salsa salmon (my mom makes this one a lot…no complaints here!), roasted veggies (x5), and then more of the same.

In my defense, I have to put makeup on, change into real people clothes from workout clothes, make my hair look decent, and figure out what to eat/stuff my face all before leaving at 5:45. So, naturally, I gravitate toward the same quick, easy meal. And as you can tell, when I’m home for the summer I rarely snap photos of what my mom makes because it’s quite hard to take discreet pictures when sitting at the table with my family.

Lame excuses, I know 😉

photo 2

Julie’s BBQ meatloaf (another one my family’s faves), sweet potato with cinnamon, my fave roll, and veggies.

photo 4

Bertucci’s calzone with roasted zucchini, roasted pepper, and sliced tomato. Love.

photo 5photo 1

If you couldn’t tell, I really like BBQ flavored everything. Monday’s dinner was BBQ pork ribs, BBQ pop chips, veggies (x3), and of course a roll.

photo 2


Well this may not have been the world’s most exciting post, but I really wanted to do another WIAW because they’re honestly really fun (especially seeing other people’s)! Thanks again, Jenn 🙂


If you didn’t see them already, be sure to read my last 2 posts (the challenge, and my summer beach essentials + sunburn sagas)!

As I mentioned, I leave for D.C. tomorrow and when I return, I not only have loads of OOTD/fashion posts for you, but I will hopefully have fun pics and stories to share, too!


Have a great rest of the week and a Happy 4th of July!!

xo’s

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 11.20.05 PM


PS – Not sure if you saw my Instagram Monday night (*Edited to add: I have since deleted the post), but I posted a pic of my new blog. I’m still toying with the idea of a new blog/blog host, or at least changing the name of my blog. Gahhh I just don’t know if it’s worth it though.

Let me know what you think in the comments below – your opinion/advice would be greatly appreciated!


Fellow bloggers/readers/anyone with an opinion:

A,B, C, or D?

A. Keep Fueling a Life as is.

B. Switch (somehow…) the name to Ooh La Laur.

C. Switch to Blogger.

D. Make the move and purchase a domain (aka make it fuelingalife.com OR oohlalaur.com <–not real domains (yet) so those links lead nowhere)!

^ I’d love some expert blogger advice on this one! If you suggest being self hosted, what is the best/most affordable/easy to use web host (that allows ads/monetizing, etc. <– I may want this in the future so I want to make sure I use a web host that allows it)? Thoughts on Blue HostGoDaddy, others?! All thoughts are welcomed 🙂

THANK YOU!!!


Oh, last thing I promise – A super short update video/teaser for what’s to come once I get the whole blog name/domain thang squared away!

7 thoughts on “Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

